Ski News

Big Storm Sets the Stage For Second Freeride World Tour Comp This Week

Big Storm Sets the Stage For Second Freeride World Tour Comp This Week

The 2021 Freeride World Tour (FWT21) confirmed today that it will host a second full event at Ordino Arcalìs, Andorra, this Wednesday, February 24, at 9:15 a.m. CET (3:15 a.m. EST; 1:15 a.m. MST). The event will act as a replacement for the cancelled FWT21 stop in Hakuba, Japan.

The venue in Andorra is currently in the middle of a storm event, which will likely clear in the next 24 hours. Fresh snow will definitely be welcomed by the riders after tricky, refrozen snow conditions caused issues for several riders during last Friday’s first stop of the season in Andorra.

The addition of this second event in Andorra means that there will be a cut to the athlete field after the first event in Fieberbrunn, Austria, based on accumulated points. There is still the possibility there will be two events in Austria during the March 5 through 12 weather window.

During the first event in Andorra on Friday, Norway’s Hedvig Wessel threw down the gauntlet for the ski field with a big backflip early on in her run, and then followed it up with several more drops. American Ross Tester, who is on the big stage for the FWT for the first time, won the men’s ski competition with a very solid run that also featured a big backflip.

The athletes, crew, and support staff of the FWT are currently following strict COVID-19 protocols, including every-other-day testing every person involved in the Andorra event. The crews are staying within specific “bubbles” while at the venue, and there are sanitary procedures in place.